W4A2012 Google Student Awards


What is it?

The W4A 2012 Student Award is an exciting opportunity for two high quality students with limited funding to receive up to US$1200 (including registration) to attend W4A 2012. We are now inviting applications with a deadline of February 28th, 2012. All students with an interest in accessibility technologies are welcome to apply, and we encourage applications from those with interests related to this year’s topic.


This award is open to any student in a postgraduate position at a University or other Higher Education institution who is carrying out research that is directly relevant to the field of web accessibility. We particularly encourage applicants from under-represented parts of the world. Please note, student award applicants cannot also be co-authors on a submitted technical or communication paper.

Award Judges

  • Giorgio Brajnik (University of Udine – Italy)
  • Vicki Hanson (University of Dundee – UK)
  • Amy Hurst (UMBC – USA)
  • Jonathan Lazar (Towson University)

How to Apply

Send the following materials to students2012@w4a.info. You will receive an email acknowledgement on successful receipt of your application:

Judging criteria

Submissions will be judged on a number of factors:

  • Awareness of the field of web accessibility.
  • Originality and potential impact of your research.
  • An indication of current funding limitations and/or any unsuccessful attempts to secure funding to attend.
  • Relevance of your research to the theme of this year’s conference; however, submissions from the broad area of Web Accessibility are also welcomed.


Successful applicants are expected to:

  • Attend the conference as an active delegate.
  • Present for 15 minutes on their research and the likely impact on the field of web accessibility.
  • Write a post-event reflective report on W4A 2012. This will be published on the W4A web site, and may also be submitted to other publications, such as the ACM SIGACCESS newsletter.


For more information, go to http://www.w4a.info/2012/submissions/student-awards or email students2012@w4a.info.

Student Co-Chairs

Shari Trewin, IBM Research, USA.

Anna Cavender, Google, USA

Comments are closed.