TPG Accessibility Challenge

Accepted Demos

The following entries qualify for the delegates and judges award:

  • A Web based Multi-Linguists Symbol-to-Text AAC Application
    Chaohai Ding, Nawar Halabi, Lama Al-Zaben, Yunjia Li, E.A. Draffan, Mike Wald
  • Refreshable Braille Oral Appliance
    Naomi Jobrack
  • A Mean for Communication between Deaf and Hearing Pairs in Inclusive Educational Settings: The Sessai App
    Soraia Silva Prietch, Emanuel J. Santos, Lucia Vilela Leite Filgueiras
  • Acrolinx: a Controlled-Language Checker Turned into an Accessibility Evaluation Tool for Image Text Alternatives
    Silvia Rodriguez Vasquez, Sabine Lehmann
  • Browser-independent Accessible Math
    Neil Soiffer

The following demos qualify for the delegates award:

  • Responsive Design for Personalised Subtitles
    Chris. J . Hughes, Mike Armstrong
  • Empathic communication of accessibility barriers in Web 2.0 editing
    Afra Pascual, Mireia Ribera, Toni Granollers
  • Understanding Design Considerations for Adaptive User Interfaces for Accessible Pointing with Older and Younger Adults
    Aqueasha Martin-Hammond, Abdullah Ali, Catherine Hornback, Amy Hurst
  • End-to-end Solution for Accessible Chemical Diagrams
    Volker Sorge, Mark Lee, Sandy Wilkinson
  • evoGraphs – A jQuery Plugin to Create Web Accessible Graphs
    Ather Sharif

The Wearable Web

May 18-20, 2015 - Florence, Italy

Important dates
» March 4 — notifications
» March 13 — camera ready deadline
» April 1 — early registration ends


Intuit will award $2000 and $1000 to the best technical and communication papers

Google will sponsor 6 PhD students to participate in the W4A Doctoral Consortium

IBM will provide travel grants to the winners of the PwD Student Award

The Paciello Group will give the Judges' and Delegates' awards to the winners of the Accessibility Challenge

ACM SIGWEB sponsors the after-dinner "William Loughborough" keynote

ABILITY Magazine will highlight the winners of awards in a special editorial